47 Prefectures of Japan

Japan has 47 prefectures. On the basis of geographical and historical background, these prefectures can be divided into eight regions: Hokkaido,
Tohoku, Kanto, Chubu, Kinki, Chugoku, Shikoku, and KyushuOkinawa.

Each region has its own dialect,
customs, and unique traditional
culture. For example, the Kanto region, which includes Tokyo, and the Kansai region, which includes Osaka, offer striking contrasts in everything from the taste of food to the style of traditional performing arts, and people have fun comparing them.

Japan has a population of 127.29
million. Mountainous areas account for more than 70% of Japan’s land, so major cities are concentrated in the plains that account for less than 30% of the land. Cities with a population
exceeding one million are Sapporo in Hokkaido; Sendai in the Tohoku region; Kawasaki, Saitama, Tokyo, and Yokohama in the Kanto region; Nagoya in the Chubu region; Osaka, Kyoto, and Kobe in the Kinki region; Hiroshima in the Chugoku region; and Fukuoka in Kyushu.

47 Prefectures of Japan

The capital city Tokyo, needless to say, is the hub of Japan. Other major cities fulfill roles as the political, economic, and cultural hubs of their respective regions.

While reminiscing my past Japan trips in the wake of Covid-19, I come across a newly released promotional video by Japan National Tourism Organization highlighting the beauty of Japan’s 47 Prefectures.

Hope this will give all Japan lover a ray of hope for a split second to visit each prefecture and see its most famous attractions & activities once again. Enjoy the moments and have fun!


I have covered 28 out of the 47 Prefectures thus far. I am eagerly looking forward to the completion of the remaining 19 Prefectures when travel restrictions are lifted. What about you?

One thought on “47 Prefectures of Japan

Leave a Reply